Message from the president

A Message from the President of AAEE

Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineers,

For those of you that missed our AAEE business meeting on April 5, you missed a great opportunity to see the next generation of engineering leaders in action.  We witnessed a demo by the TechHogs from Lakeside Junior High School in Springdale, AR, which was one of the teams supported by the Academy this year. All the TechHog members made an impressive presentation and demonstrated the robot they build as well as displaying their awards. It was encouraging to see such enthusiastic and articulate students take an interest in technology and work together as a team and with other teams. 


We also heard from our AAEE member, Dean John English on the state of our college. Dean English informed us that Dr. Juan Balda is our new EE Department Head. I would like to congratulate Dr. Balda. We will benefit greatly from his experience and passion.  Dr. Vijay Varadan then gave a presentation and demonstration on his research with textile based nanosensors for healthcare.

It was very exciting and encouraging to watch such impressive junior high students, learn the exciting plans for the department and college, and witness the state-of-the-art in nanotechnology within several hours. 

I would like to congratulate our eight new members that were inducted into AAEE at the AAEE banquet on April 4, 2014:


·        Barbara Derryberry (BSEE ’85, MSEE ‘87)

·        Alan Hannah (BSEE ’76),  (Texas A&M-MSEE ’89, MBA  ’92)

·        Eugene Jenkins (BSEE ’86)  (Oklahoma Baptist U. - BACS ’00)

·        Matt R. Lovelace (BSEE ‘80)

·        Bill Luther (BSEE ‘78)

·        Randall Robinette  (BSEE ‘87)

·        Lance T. Shinall (BSEE ’93)

·        Rudy Timmerman (BSEE ’90)


I would like to congratulate our new AAEE board for 2014-2015:


·        Keith Miller – Vice President

·        Eugene Jenkins - Secretary/Treasurer

·        Pat Bourne

·        Mark Mobley

·        Lance Shinall


I want to thank the past AAEE Board for their service:

·        Greg Garner - Vice President,

·        Mark Mobley - Secretary/Treasurer

·        Pat Bourne

·        Brent Carr

·        Jim Davis

·        Micky Mayfield


The new 2014-2015 school year is just around the corner.  Your other officers will begin planning activities that support the objectives of the Department of Electrical Engineering, professional development of our members and student quality of life. We will be meeting regularly to accomplish this task. Please refer to the posted minutes of the business meeting for specifics, but there is great interest in strengthening the Electrical Engineering department and recruiting the best and brightest into a career in Electrical Engineering.


I encourage you to attend our next Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineers dinner on currently planned for Friday night, April 24, 2015 and the business meeting on April 25, 2015. It will be well worth your time to have the chance to network with fellow members of your profession and learn the exciting things that are going on in the University of Arkansas Electrical Engineering Department. We will also be honoring outstanding students and faculty at our dinner as well as introducing new members.

If you have any questions please navigate to the contacts page for the latest contact information.

Bruce A Bumgarner